top of page

Why I Do What I Do


Lyric fuels my desire to be a crazy dog lady

Remember when we were kids and everybody would ask us what we wanted to be when we grew up? My answer changed every 5 minutes. I swear. I wanted to be a secretary, a designer, a marine, a rancher, a famous pianist, and (above all else) a crazy dog lady...still kinda wanna be that if we're honest. Well, then college came and I could pick any of the things I wanted to be. But all of the sudden nothing I wanted to be as a kid sounded like something I wanted to do for the rest of my life. So when people would ask me what I was doing for college I told them I had no clue. And that's how I answer most of the "what are you doing with your life" questions that I get now.

I finally chose Wayne State College and latched on to the idea of majoring in fashion merchandising and minoring in music (playing piano has always been my happy place). I spent my college career learning all about t

he business side of fashion and when graduation rolled around everyone wanted to know what my plan was. I gave them my usual answer of "I have no clue." The more I said I didn't know the more I realize that I really did know. Personal stylist was exactly what I wanted to do with my life and new degree. Where to begin though? I wasn't sure how to answer that question so I moved to Alaska...

I've been living in Alaska with my sister, her husband, and my nephew, Wyatt, (who I spend my days nannying) since September (2016). It's been the perfect place for me to think through what steps I need to take to start pursuing my dream. Launching this blog is one of those steps.

I decided to start a personal style blog for a couple of reasons. They can all be summed up in one simple statement: I love styling. Everyone assumes fashion design when I tell them what my major was but I don't love doing that part of fashion. I admire it and am fascinated by the process but don't care to do it myself. I crave one on one interactions with real people. Years of working retail made me love the smiles of people that leave a store with something they're excited about and that makes them feel confident. There is just something about helping people find a look they love that is 100% "them." The way they walk away with such confidence is the most fulfilling thing to me.

So if you ask me what I want to do with my life now I would tell you I want to make people feel good about themselves for every occasion. In May I'm heading back to Omaha, NE for the summer to pack up the rest of my life and then I'm moving to Kansas City to get started as a personal stylist there.

That's what my blogging is all about. It's about sharing what I love with people who love or are interested in it. I'm here for YOU. I'm going to be sharing looks that I wear on the daily but I'll also share my methods for an organized closet, styling tips for different occasions, packing/traveling style tips (because, as you can tell, I like to be on the move), and I want to have interactions with you guys too! Feel free to leave comments and send me your questions. I'm so excited to be able to put my thoughts out there and put my degree to use this way.

Thanks for joining me on this journey y'all. I'm so excited to take the next steps and more excited that you're coming along!

Much love,

Millie

Sometimes ya just gotta throw a little sass into your daily life

bottom of page