top of page

Ipsy: February

First things first: what the heck is Ipsy?

It's a company that sends out what they call "Glam Bags" on a monthly basis for $10/month. Each Glam Bag is personally tailored to the subscriber and filled with 5 beauty samples. These samples range anywhere from face masks to bronzer to fragrances. They also provide online beauty tutorials and a point system that allows you add extra beauty products to your Glam Bag.

I had been curious about Ipsy for a while but as a broke (and I mean so broke I once survived an entire week on one sheet of crackers) college student I just couldn't commit to the monthly cost. My sister bought me a year long subscription as one of my gifts this past Christmas though. So I filled out the questionnaire about my skin type, beauty preferences, eye color, and everything in between. My January Glam Bag didn't make it to Alaska til AFTER my February one (#awkward) so I didn't get a chance to review that one but let me share my thoughts on February while I wait for my March bag to get here.

Before we get too far let me tell you a little secret about me: I have no idea what I'm doing when it comes to makeup. I'm slowly teaching myself as I go so don't be surprised if I say I've never used something that most 13 year olds know how to use. I was just late to the game of makeup but I'm all in now.

P.S. isn't this denim Glam Bag too cute?? I love that, in addition to getting products, you get these ADORABLE bags! Well played Ipsy, well played.

Let the review begin!

1. Blush brush by Luxie ($18). So if you didn't believe me before about not knowing what I'm doing with makeup just know that I had never used blush before January of THIS year (outside of the absolutely absurd pink stuff we put on our faces for show choir in high school). I had a blush brush I was given for hosting a Mary Kay party in high school but this one beats it. The bristles are literally the softest thing I've ever felt which, in and of itself. is enough reason to love it. My Mary Kay brush has much coarser bristles and the pigmentation of the blush clings to them more where this one doesn't keep any of the blush for itself. I'm no expert on makeup brushes so it's very possible there are better brushes out there but I'm not disappointed with this one in the least.

2. Baked highlighter by Luna (Calypso) ($23). If I've never used blush you can bet I've never used highlighter. My friend gave me a palette with a highlighter in it for Christmas though and I was using that before I got this. I have fair skin with a pink undertone and this is a G.R.E.A.T. color for me. It doesn't take much to get the right amount of color and it lasts FOREVER. I do use a setting spray by Wet 'n Wild most days but this highlighter hangs on with or without it in my minimal experience with it. It's safe to say this was my favorite product in the Glam Bag.

3. Matte bronzer with more sass than me (and that takes some effort) by Elizabeth Mott ($25). Bronzer has always been the thing I was most afraid to try out. I'm pretty pale so putting something dark on my skin like that makes me nervous. What if it doesn't blend well? I tried this one out regardless. I'm not in love with it. It blended better than I expected but just didn't quite work for my skin tone. As a product it works okay. I didn't notice it fading like crazy and it didn't feel like it caked my face (it's a powder). It also didn't impress me. If felt like I had to use quite a bit to get any color but then it was too much and I had to try and even it out with the rest of my skin. So I would give it a solid "meh".

4. Butter lipstick by NYX (Lifeguard) ($5.99). I ADORE this color (I think I own 5 different lipsticks almost identical to this shade...oops). As a general rule I like NYX lipsticks for the price. I personally prefer my NYX lipsticks to my Revlon options but I would wear my Maybelline colors before either of them. I've never owned a lip butter lipstick so I was excited to try this out. It's a creamy lipstick with a satin finish. It's supposed to be a little more moisturizing for your lips than your average lipsticks. I can't say that I noticed a major difference but Alaska is VERY dry and my lips are MAJORLY chapped so nothing other than lip balms feels very moisturizing. The color doesn't last all day so it takes a few applications throughout the day but it's a great color for any occasion. Overall, a product I like but don't LOVE.

5. SOO AE face masks (Charcoal: $2.50) (Green Tea: $2.50) What girl doesn't love a good face mask at the end of a night? Both of these are "soo" refreshing. My face gets incredibly dried out when I wash it but some moisturizers are just too much. Both these masks are moisturizing enough to use after cleansing in place of a moisturizer. The charcoal mask was my favorite of these two. I struggle with really bad acne so I'm always looking for better ways to clear up my skin and this mask left me feeling so clean and refreshed. Loved it.

I've only gotten two Glam Bags from Ipsy so far but, overall, I've been really pleased with the products. Definitely cheaper to experiment with a monthly Glam Bag than paying full price for products I'm unfamiliar with. My only real issue with Ipsy so far is how long it takes them to ship. I don't get my products til the end of the month so it's hard for me to review them before my products for the next month are picked out. The issue with shipping might simply be the fact that I live Alaska. Shipping is slow as a general rule here.

Do any of you have any experience with Ipsy or one of these products? Let me know your thoughts! Show me your fav beauty products by using #stylemoorelivemoore on social media.

Much love,

Millie

bottom of page